Next Event

SNF 6 2012: Official Release


22 September 2012 – Team ST Wangan’s Akina Teo pinched victory from Team Type-R Racing’s Boy Wong at the last lap of the final heat in Race Cars (Class 1) category at Round 6 of Saturday Night Fever Challenge Series 2012 (SNF). Current series leader in Race Cars (Class 1), Akina pilots a 2-litre Honda Civic EK and was threatened by the imminent return of the very quick Boy Wong to SNF in a similar machine, after missing the past 3 rounds.

In the preliminary heats Akina, Boy Wong, and Ayyavu Jr Racing Team’s Kesavamoorthy (Honda Integra DC5 Type-R) battled tooth-and-nail as they jostled for track position that would dictate their Final heat starting spots. The dogfighting was close, intense, and unabated from Green light till chequered flag and hinted at an explosive final heat race.

Into the Sepang’s Turn 1 in the final, Boy Wong got stayed down the inside of Akina to take the lead. The next 4 laps were a master-class of race-craft by these three top drivers, as Boy skillfully held Akina back whilst Kesavamoorthy took opportunistic stabs at Akina. Into Turn 4 for the last time and Akina ducked under Boy on the exit to take the lead through the last 3 corners and to the chequered flag, the three separated by only a second across the line.

“I was always quicker in the fast turns 5 and 6, but could not make a move without risking contact,” said Akina after the race. He adds, “I had to make that dive in the last lap work for me, and I’m very glad it did!”

In the SuperStreet category, for the first time this year N1 Racing Team’s Desmond Yee did not make the final when his Honda Civic FD2 Type-R’s engine blew just as he took the chequered flag for heat 2. This handed newcomer Suhaimi Shukor (GME Racing) the opportunity to take a rookie win, which he locked in with his lap-3 pass on early leader Badrul Hisham (N1 Racing Team, Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution 8).

Logesvaran Kaliaperumal took a sweet win with his Perodua Kancil Turbo in the Special Kei category after being disqualified from the previous round and a broken gearbox earlier in the afternoon. “Just six hours ago, I didn’t even know if I was going to start the race, what more win! I wholeheartedly thank my team for their gallant effort to strip-down and replace the part at the eleventh hour,” exclaimed a jubilant Logesvaran.

Expect full grids and fierce racing in the final two rounds of the year as championship positions are tight in most categories. Next round of Saturday Night Fever is 10th November 2012, with the final on 15th December 2012.

Full race results and the latest Championship points updates are available on


Mini Classic
1st Syafiq Ali Mini Cooper 7:13.977
2nd Hairani B. Arifin Mini Clubman 7:39.811
3rd Mohd Hamdan Arifin Mini 7:57.969

1st Aril Hamka Starlet EP82 6:52.483
2nd Ahmad Ezani Mohd Isha Starlet EP71 7:11.002
3rd Ahmad Shariffuddin B. Mat Ariffin Starlet EP82 7:58.506

Special Kei
1st Logesvaran Kaliaperumal Kancil Turbo 6:58.410
2nd Syazril Amri B. Abdul Rahman Kancil Turbo 6:58.562
3rd Muhd Tarmizi B. Abdul Aziz Kancil Turbo 7:06.360

Campro Chase
1st Raj @ Michael Ayyavu Satria Neo 7:08.415
2nd Halim Othman Waja 7:14.287
3rd Ifwat Ataa Abd Razak Satria Neo 7:14.707

Race Cars Class 1
1st Akina Teo Civic EK9 6:18.283
2nd Boy Wong Yew Choong Civic EK9 6:18.870
3rd Kesavamoorthy Ayyavu Integra DC5 6:19.230

Race Cars Class 2
1st Winson Eu Tuck Meng Civic EK9 6:42.072
2nd Aun Yue Wei Civic EK9 6:50.227
3rd Lee Kum Soon Civic EK9 6:52.317

1st Suhaimi Shukor Integra Type-R 6:40.094
2nd Badrul Hisham Abd Rahim Lancer EVO 8MR 6:41.063
3rd Muhd Havy Zolkifli Nissan Skyline R35 6:55.312

Street 1.8 NA
1st Gan Kim Koa Civic EK4 6:57.999
2nd Mohd Noor Fairuz Mohd Satria 1.8 6:58.671
3rd Nasrul Azizi Nasaruddin Satria GTI 7:07.183

Street 1.8 VTEC / Turbo
1st Ahmad Firdaus Azman Civic EF9 6:29.122
2nd Philip Tang Peng Ngiap Civic EF9 6:39.749
3rd Ahmad Fauzi Latib Civic EK9 6:41.623

About adian

ADIAN YEIN ( Adian was one of the start-up members that initiated the Proton Motorsports Division back in 2003, together with Tengku Djan Ley and Khaidi Kamaruddin, running under the brand name R3 – Race Rally Research. Projects that he led include the Proton Satria R3, Lotus Europa, and all the R3 special edition vehicles up to 2007, where he then transferred to Proton Edar for an 1-year stint as Manager for Marketing Development. He has over 20 years of motorsports experience, both as driver and team manager, culminating in two back-to-back wins of the Merdeka Millennium Endurance race as the Team Manager of the Proton-R3 team. Highlights in his motorsports career include being a D1GP Judge opposite Drift King, Keiichi Tsuchiya, kicking off the malaysian autocross and drifting scene with the Proton SSO, and managing Team Proton-R3’s participation in the Japan Super GT in 2005. Adian was also the host of the car test drive and review television program “Get A Car” that aired on NTV7 in 2009. He currently a professional driving instructor and automotive events operator with Driven Communications, and co-host of the Driven Web Series. He has recently found joy door-to-door racing again at MSF!
Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

WP-SpamFree by Pole Position Marketing